Let Us Celebrate


Well, It’s that time of year again.  The time when we freeloading, turkey eaters decide whose house to raid for a Thanksgiving feast of compliments of anyone but ourself.  So, who will this years victims of kitchen slavery be?  Normally, my parents celebrate every single year with the best of Puerto Rican cuisine, my mother in law is quite the opposite.  No One touches her kitchen but her! Usually, she makes a range of different platters mixing Italian, with Spanish and the occasional Chinese style rice.

Although we know the real meaning of Thanksgiving is about giving thanks for the important things in our lives and commemorating the Pilgrims and Indians for their many gifts and contributions to the land, we all really know it’s about the turkey!  Now, since I am the pastry princess of the family, my sweet potato pie and pumpkin pies are expected to make a great turn out as I have been taking orders like a waitress on a Saturday night.

Grocery lists will be quite long this month! Don’t forget the febreeze for the bathroom goers trying to make room for Round 2 of the meal.   You should also watch out for specials.  Some Supermarkets offer a free turkey if you spend a certain amount of money, way to give back huh? I will enjoy this Thanksgiving as I have done in the past, eat, drink and be merry and of course giving thanks to the one and only being that makes the day worth it, Jesus.

After all is said and done I will digest and prepare my pre New Year’s resolution list.  The one thing we always promise to do and never get done, Hit the gym.  Lucky for me, I have a household full of children that keep me on my toes, so the need to frolic around in tights and a sports bra and pretend to jog on the treadmill will not be in my schedule this year.

On this note, may everyone have a Happy Thanksgiving! May you eat till your heart’s content  and be grateful for all the blessings that have been set forth upon you.

Toodaloo.

The Naked Blogger asks:  What are you thankful for?

As always, all commentary and feedback are welcome below.

Leave a Reply

